Port of Viareggio
Two extensions to today's Burlamacca canal were built in 1577. It is on its banks that the first maritime activities developed
In 1740, Bernardino Zendrini had a water-gate built in order to prevent the sea water from arriving to lake Massaciuccoli.
In 1820 Maria Luisa di Borbone, duchess of Lucca had the first marina of Viareggio built, which was completed in 1823, and took the name of Marina of Lucca.
Between 1871 and 1873 the so-called Marina of Tuscany was built, then followed by the Marina of Italy, 1907 through to 1911.
In 1938 the Marina of the Empire was also built, which was followed in the 1970s by the Marina of Viareggio (also known as the New Marina), the Marina of the Madonnina, and the new lighthouse.
The Madonnina can host up to 500 vessels.
The city hosts the local Capitaneria di Porto, and all vessels registered here bear the marking VG.